Founded in 1980 and situated in Frankfurt am Main since 1985, the Ensemble Modern(EM) is one of the world’s leading ensembles of Contemporary Music. Currently, the EM is comprised of 19 soloists from Argentina, Bulgaria, Germany, India, Israel, Japan, Poland, and Switzerland, all of whom provide the ensemble with its rich cultural background.

The Ensemble Modern is famous for its special working and organisational form, which is unlike any other in the world. All the members are responsible for jointly selecting and dealing with projects, co-productions and financial matters. Its unique and distinctive programme consists of music theatre, dance and video projects, chamber music, ensemble and orchestral concerts. The Ensemble Modern has gone on tour to Africa, Australia, China, India, Japan, Korea, South America, Taiwan, Russia and the United States.

It regularly performs at renowned festivals and outstanding venues, such as the Salzburger Festspiele, Klangspuren Schwaz, Festwochen Wien, Musikfest Berlin, MusikTriennale Cologne, Lincoln Center Festival in New York, Festival d’Automne à Paris, Holland Festival in Amsterdam, Lucerne Festival, Alte Oper Frankfurt, Oper Frankfurt, Kölner Philharmonie, Konzerthaus Berlin, Philharmonie Essen and the Festspielhaus Baden- Baden. The Ensemble Modern gives approximately 100 concerts each year. The ensemble strives to achieve the highest degree of authenticity by working closely with the composers themselves. The musicians rehearse an average of 70 new works every year, 20 of which are world premieres.

The Ensemble Modern is funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation, the City of Frankfurt, theGerman Ensemble Academy Assoc., the state of Hesse, the Deutsche Bank Stiftung and the GVL. Special projects are enabled by Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain. The musicians of the Ensemble Modern would like to thank the Aventis Foundation for financing a seat in the Ensemble. hr2-kultur – cultural affairs partner of the Ensemble Modern.


201321.–24. November 

© cresc biennale 2013